Professional Development for Healthcare Professions Blog

Monday Technology Tip- Time Zones are Easy

Posted by Chad Sines on Mon, Jan 30, 2012 @ 06:32 PM

Med-Line School of Medical TranscriptionMedical transcription is about critical thinking. It is about researching to find the answer so that you will be better equipped for the future. One of the saddest questions I hear is this: What time is it in my time zone? We had a tip on this in the past but there are still a lot of questions from students and practitioners on a regular basis.

In a virtual workforce, this is a question that we should never, ever hear. We work remotely, often for a company in another state and for clients in many others. Not knowing how to figure out basic time zones is a failure to think critically.

So we are going to put the issue to rest today.

The latest time is always Eastern Standard Time (EST), next is Central Standard Time (CST), then Mountain Standard Time (MST), and finally the earliest is Pacific Standard Time (PST).

It goes like this:

EST --> CST --> MST --> PST

Every time you move from left to right (the direction of the arrows), you subtract an hour. When going against the arrow, add an hour each time you cross an arrow.

So it would be 4 pm EST, 3 pm CST, 2 pm MST, 1 pm PST.

Pretty simple right?

So figure this one out and reply in the comments. What is 6 am CST in the other time zones?

Topics: Technology Tip